This page compares the education systems of Turkey and United Kingdom.
Education System Overview
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| System Type | Public–private mix; governance model: Centralised national framework with school-level implementation Source✅ | The United Kingdom has a devolved public/private education mix. England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland operate separate education systems, with their own school rules, curricula, qualification systems, and administrative arrangements. UK-level statistics are combined only where definitions allow meaningful aggregation. [UK DfE] |
| Governing Body | Ministry of National Education (K–12) and Council of Higher Education (CoHE / YÖK) (tertiary) Source✅ | England: Department for Education (DfE) / Scotland: Scottish Government / Wales: Welsh Government / Northern Ireland: Department of Education. Higher education funding, regulation, and student support also use separate nation-specific bodies and rules. [UK DfE] |
| Government Expenditure on Education (% of GDP) | World Bank indicator series (UNESCO UIS-sourced); most-recent year/value is shown on the country chart Source✅ | UK government expenditure on education was approximately 4.1% of GDP in the 2024–25 financial year. This is a UK aggregate and does not imply identical funding arrangements across the four education systems. [UK DfE] |
Education Structure & Compulsory Schooling
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Compulsory Age Range | From age 6 to age 18 (12-year compulsory schooling) Source✅ | England: compulsory school age is generally 5–16, followed by a separate requirement to remain in education or training until 18. [GOV.UK] / Scotland: school education is generally compulsory from about 5–16, with children usually starting P1 between roughly 4½ and 5½. [Scottish Government] / Wales: compulsory school age is generally 5–16. / Northern Ireland: children normally begin primary school at 4 or 5 and remain in compulsory education until the applicable school-leaving date around age 16. [Education NI] |
| Total Compulsory Duration (Years) | 12 years Source✅ | England: about 11 years of compulsory school-age education, followed by the separate education or training participation duty to 18 / Scotland: generally about 11 school-age years / Wales: generally about 11 school-age years / Northern Ireland: the statutory model provides at least 12 years, consisting of seven primary and five post-primary years. [Education NI] |
| Pre-primary Education (ECE) Access | Optional (national expansion focus); age 3–5 rate: not centrally published as a single open figure across all sources Source✅ | There is no single UK-wide ECE entitlement or directly comparable enrollment percentage. England: all 3- and 4-year-olds are entitled to funded early education. [GOV.UK] Scotland: funded early learning and childcare is available before school, with eligibility linked to age and school-entry rules. [Scottish Government] Wales: funded nursery education is available for 3- and 4-year-olds, with additional funded childcare available to eligible families. [Welsh Government] Northern Ireland: the government funds a pre-school place for every child whose family wants one, but attendance is not compulsory. [Education NI] |
| Primary + Secondary Education Structure (Years) | 4+4+4 (primary + lower secondary + upper secondary) Source✅ | England: Reception, then Years 1–6 + Years 7–11, followed by post-16 routes; the National Curriculum is organized through four Key Stages. [GOV.UK] / Scotland: P1–P7 + S1–S6, with broad general education through S3 and a senior phase from S4 to S6 under Curriculum for Excellence. [Scottish Government] / Wales: Reception, Years 1–6 + Years 7–11, followed by post-16 routes under the Curriculum for Wales. [Welsh Government] / Northern Ireland: P1–P7 + Years 8–12, with optional Years 13–14 for post-16 study; the statutory curriculum is divided into Foundation Stage and Key Stages 1–4. [Education NI] |
| Vocational vs. General Upper Secondary Split (%) | Two-track structure: general and vocational & technical; official split varies by year and is not consistently presented as one headline percentage in a single open source Source✅ | No harmonized UK-wide percentage should be used. England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland classify academic, technical, vocational, college, and apprenticeship routes differently. The UK DfE also notes that qualification systems and headline measures differ between the four nations, limiting direct comparison. [UK DfE] |
Academic Calendar & Instruction Time
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Academic Year Start (Typical Month) | September (typical) Source✅ | England: typically September, with dates set locally / Scotland: typically August, with dates varying by local authority. [Scottish Government] / Wales: typically September; the 2026–27 approved calendar begins on September 1, 2026. [Welsh Government] / Northern Ireland: typically September; schools resume on September 1, 2026 for 2026–27. [Education NI] |
| Academic Year End (Typical Month) | June (typical) Source✅ | England: typically July, with local variation / Scotland: usually June or early July. [Scottish Government] / Wales: typically July; approved 2026–27 dates end around July 20–21 depending on the local authority group. [Welsh Government] / Northern Ireland: the summer holiday begins July 1, placing the normal end of teaching in late June. [Education NI] |
| Instruction Weeks per Year | Typically around 36 weeks (calendar varies by year) Source✅ | No single statutory UK-wide total. Term dates, local calendars, staff development days, and operational requirements are administered separately. A single figure such as 39 weeks should therefore not be presented as a United Kingdom value. [Scottish Government] |
| Instruction Days per Year | Typically around 180 days (calendar varies by year) Source✅ | No single UK-wide instruction-day figure applies to all four systems. National and local rules differ, and some calendars include separate teacher-development or school-development closure days. [Education NI] |
Grading System
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Primary/Secondary Grading Scale | 0–100 scale (commonly used across K–12) Source✅ | England: GCSEs use the 9–1 scale, with 9 highest; most A levels use A*–E. [GOV.UK] / Scotland: National 5, Higher, and Advanced Higher courses use A–D; other courses and awards may use pass/fail arrangements. [Qualifications Scotland] / Wales: GCSEs use A*–G; the Made-for-Wales qualification reforms retain a Welsh qualification system distinct from England. [Careers Wales] / Northern Ireland: CCEA GCSEs use letter grades; other regulated GCSEs taken in Northern Ireland can use different grading arrangements. [UK Regulators] |
| Higher Education Grading Scale | ECTS (A–F) and GPA (commonly 4.0) depending on institution/programme Source✅ | Universities set their own assessment regulations, but UK honors bachelor’s degrees commonly use First, Upper Second (2:1), Lower Second (2:2), and Third classifications. This should not be treated as one centrally imposed percentage scale for every institution or course. [Universities UK] |
Language of Instruction
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Primary Instruction Languages (K–12) | Turkish Source✅ | England: primarily English / Scotland: primarily English, with Gaelic-medium education available / Wales: English and Welsh, including Welsh-medium and dual-language schools / Northern Ireland: primarily English, with Irish-medium education available. In January 2026, Wales recorded 403 Welsh-medium schools and 73 dual-language schools. [Welsh Government] |
| Other Official / Minority Instruction Languages (K–12) | Not established as a single nationwide public-language stream; some private and international schools offer English-medium or other bilingual programmes Source✅ | Scotland: Gaelic-medium provision operates within the Scottish system / Wales: Welsh-medium education forms a substantial part of public provision / Northern Ireland: Irish-medium schools provide education through Irish. [Education NI] |
School Provision & Access (K–12)
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Public School Enrollment Share (K–12, % of Students) | Majority share (nationwide public provision) Source✅ | No single directly comparable UK-wide percentage should be assigned under one school-type definition. England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland classify state-funded, maintained, grant-aided, academy, and other school categories differently. The UK DfE reports 29,532 maintained schools across the UK for 2024/25 but keeps nation-specific definitions in the underlying data. [UK DfE] |
| Public School Tuition Fee (Annual, Local Currency) | USD $0 (tuition-free public schooling) Source✅ | $0 for ordinary state-funded compulsory school provision. In UK usage, the term “public school” can also refer to certain independent fee-charging schools, so this field refers specifically to state-funded schools. |
| Public Schools Nationwide Availability | Yes (broad nationwide coverage) Source✅ | Yes. State-funded school provision operates throughout England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, but administration, school categories, admissions rules, curricula, and funding arrangements are handled within each nation’s education system. [UK DfE] |
| Private School Enrollment Share (K–12, % of Students) | Smaller share relative to public; exact % varies by year and level Source✅ | No single harmonized UK-wide percentage should be used without defining which independent and non-state categories are included. Official school statistics are published separately for the four nations. [UK DfE] |
| Private Schools (Geographic Concentration) | Mostly urban and major metropolitan areas (with nationwide presence) Source✅ | There is no standard official UK-wide concentration measure for independent schools. Distribution differs by nation, region, school type, and the definition used, so an England-only concentration should not be presented as a United Kingdom pattern. |
International Schools (K–12)
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Number of International Schools (Total) | Not centrally published as a single national count; presence includes international and international-programme schools Source✅ | There is no single official UK-wide total based on a common legal definition of “international school.” Independent schools may offer international programs without belonging to one national international-school category. |
| Number of IB World Schools | 127 IB World Schools Source✅ | 128 schools across the UK offered International Baccalaureate programs in 2026, serving nearly 100,000 students. [IB] |
| Main International Programmes Offered | IB, Cambridge, American, and other international curricula depending on school Source✅ | International Baccalaureate (IB) is the clearest UK-wide documented international program. Individual schools may also offer international or foreign-curriculum qualifications, but availability varies by provider rather than through one UK school system. [IB] |
Resources & Learning Environment (K–12)
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum Teacher Qualification (Public Schools) | Typically a Bachelor’s degree (teacher education / subject-field) Source✅ | England: QTS is legally required in maintained schools and non-maintained special schools, while academies and some other schools have different rules. [GOV.UK] / Scotland: all teachers in public education must be registered with the General Teaching Council for Scotland. [Scottish Government] / Wales: QTS applies to qualified teaching in maintained-school provision, with registration requirements administered in Wales / Northern Ireland: teacher qualifications and eligibility are approved under Northern Ireland’s separate registration arrangements. [Education NI] |
| Average Class Size (Primary) | Not consistently published as one national average in a single open source for all years; class size varies by region and school type Source✅ | No single comparable UK-wide primary class-size average is published under one common definition. For context, the combined 2024/25 release reports pupil-to-teacher ratios—not class sizes—of 18.0 England / 13.3 Scotland / 18.9 Wales / 17.1 Northern Ireland. [UK DfE] |
| Average Class Size (Lower Secondary) | Not consistently published as one national average; varies by region and school type Source✅ | No harmonized UK-wide lower-secondary class-size figure. Nation-specific statistical publications use different school phases and reporting definitions; pupil-to-teacher ratio should not be substituted for class size. |
| Average Class Size (Upper Secondary) | Not consistently published as one national average; varies by programme and school type Source✅ | No harmonized UK-wide upper-secondary class-size figure. Post-16 provision also differs between school sixth forms, colleges, and nation-specific qualification routes. |
System Performance & Learning Outcomes (OECD/PISA)
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| PISA Participation (First Year) | 2003 participation Source✅ | 2000. PISA can report a United Kingdom aggregate even though domestic school systems, curricula, and examinations are devolved. |
| PISA 2018 Scores (Mathematics / Reading / Science) | 454 / 466 / 468 Source✅ | 502 / 504 / 505. [OECD] |
| PISA 2022 Scores (Mathematics / Reading / Science) | 453 / 456 / 476 Source✅ | 489 / 494 / 500. [OECD] |
| Average PISA Rank 2000–2022 (Math / Reading / Science) | Not published as a single standard “average rank” metric; OECD provides cycle-by-cycle results and distributions Source✅ | Not an official OECD measure. OECD publishes scores, distributions, uncertainty ranges, and year-specific comparisons rather than one official “average PISA rank” covering 2000–2022. A fixed rank range should therefore not be presented as a measured UK statistic. [OECD] |
| Strongest Subject Area (PISA 2022) | Science (highest of the three 2022 domain scores) Source✅ | Science, with a UK mean score of 500, compared with 494 in reading and 489 in mathematics. [OECD] |
Higher Education System
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Higher Education Institutions (Total) | 208 universities (state + foundation + foundation vocational schools, as presented by the national “Study in Türkiye” portal) Source✅ | 304 higher education providers reported student data to HESA in 2024/25. This is a reporting-provider count rather than a claim that all 304 hold identical university status. [HESA] |
| Number of Universities (Research Universities) | Designated research universities are evaluated annually; the CoHE publishes updates and rankings (2025 cycle includes 10 candidate research universities) Source✅ | No single official “research university” category exists for a UK-wide count. University title, degree-awarding powers, research activity, and HESA provider reporting are separate concepts. [GOV.UK] |
| Number of Universities of Applied Sciences / Colleges | Not a separate national institutional category; applied and associate-degree provision is commonly delivered via vocational schools within universities Source✅ | The UK does not operate a formal “University of Applied Sciences” sector equivalent to that used in some European systems. Degree-level education can be delivered by universities, specialist higher education providers, university colleges, and some further education colleges. |
| Main Institution Types | State universities; foundation (non-profit) universities; foundation vocational schools Source✅ | Universities, specialist higher education providers, university colleges and colleges delivering higher education. Degree-awarding authority must be checked separately from the institution where teaching takes place. [GOV.UK] |
| Tertiary Enrollment Share by Ownership | Public/non-profit: not centrally stated as a single % in this summary source | Private/for-profit: not centrally stated as a single % in this summary source Source✅ | No single harmonized UK-wide public/non-profit vs. private/for-profit percentage is published under the simple ownership split used in this field. Provider legal status and regulatory categories differ. |
| English-Taught Degree Programmes (Bachelor + Master, Total) | Not centrally published as one national total; many universities offer English-medium tracks (notably in engineering and business) Source✅ | No official UK-wide program count is published by teaching language. English is the dominant teaching language across UK higher education, while Welsh-medium and some Gaelic-medium study is also available. |
| Share of Tertiary Programmes Taught in National Languages (%) | Majority (programme language varies by institution and field); no single official % consolidated in this summary source Source✅ | No official UK-wide percentage. Teaching-language data should not be represented as “100% English,” because Welsh-medium and other language provision exists and institutional reporting is not organized as one UK-wide percentage. |
| Share of Tertiary Programmes Taught in English (%) | Available across many institutions; no single official % consolidated in this summary source Source✅ | Predominantly English, but no verified UK-wide percentage is published under one consistent program-level measure. |
| Main Global Ranking Used | QS World University Rankings Source✅ | QS World University Rankings 2027 is one widely used international ranking edition applicable in 2026. Other ranking systems use different methods and may produce different positions. [QS] |
| Universities in Top 100 (Selected Ranking) | Not stated as a fixed country count in the publicly accessible country filter view; inclusion depends on the selected edition and filters Source✅ | Edition-dependent. Use the live QS World University Rankings 2027 United Kingdom filter rather than retaining a hard-coded count from an older edition. [QS] |
| Universities in Top 500 (Selected Ranking) | Not stated as a fixed country count in the publicly accessible country filter view; inclusion depends on the selected edition and filters Source✅ | Edition-dependent. The live QS 2027 UK-filtered ranking is the appropriate reference because membership of the top 500 changes between editions. [QS] |
| Universities in Top 1000 (Selected Ranking) | Not stated as a fixed country count in the publicly accessible country filter view; inclusion depends on the selected edition and filters Source✅ | Edition-dependent. The live QS 2027 UK-filtered ranking should be used rather than carrying forward a 2025 or 2026 count. [QS] |
| National Accreditation / QA Agency (Higher Education) | Turkish Higher Education Quality Council (YÖKAK) Source✅ | The Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA) maintains the UK Quality Code as a shared reference point, while regulatory and funding arrangements remain nation-specific rather than being controlled by one UK regulator. [QAA] |
| International Students (Total) | Not stated in this summary source as a single national total; reported in sector monitoring publications and institutional statistics Source✅ | The UK hosted almost 749,000 international tertiary students in the OECD’s 2025 country profile data. Separately, HESA recorded 2,863,180 total UK higher education student enrollments in 2024/25. [OECD] |
| International Students Share of Total Tertiary Enrollment (%) | Not stated in this summary source as a single %; share depends on the coverage of the underlying student count (formal/open/distance) Source✅ | Approximately 23% of tertiary students were international in the OECD’s United Kingdom profile. [OECD] |
Education Costs (Indicative)
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Public University Tuition Fees – Domestic / Regional (Annual, Local Currency) | USD $0–$0 for many standard public programmes; fees may apply in specific cases depending on institution/programme Source✅ | England: about $13,000 equivalent for the 2026/27 standard full-time maximum at eligible fee-cap providers. [GOV.UK] Wales: about $13,000 equivalent for the 2026/27 maximum covered by the main fee-loan limit. [Welsh Government] Northern Ireland: about $6,600 equivalent for eligible Northern Ireland students studying at publicly funded institutions in Northern Ireland in 2026/27. [NI Direct] Scotland: the undergraduate first-degree tuition rate is roughly $2,400 equivalent, normally paid by SAAS for eligible Scotland-domiciled students studying in Scotland. [SAAS] USD figures are rounded equivalents; statutory fees and support are set in local currency and exchange rates vary. |
| Public University Tuition Fees – International / Non-EU (Annual, Local Currency) | Institution-set; typically published by each university as annual fees (USD varies by programme) Source✅ | International undergraduate tuition is typically about $15,000–$51,000 per year, while international postgraduate tuition is commonly about $12,000–$40,000 per year, using rounded USD equivalents of the current published UK ranges. Fees vary by university and course. [British Council] |
| Typical Tuition Fees for English-Taught Programmes (Annual, Local Currency) | Institution-set; English-medium tracks are priced by each provider (USD varies by field and degree level) Source✅ | For international students, mainstream English-taught undergraduate programs commonly fall within approximately $15,000–$51,000 per year, with postgraduate programs commonly around $12,000–$40,000. Course type and institution can materially change the fee. [British Council] |
| Language School Costs (Monthly, Local Currency) | Provider-specific (universities and private language centres publish their own fee lists); typical monthly pricing is quoted in local terms and varies by hours and level (USD equivalent varies) Source✅ | No official UK-wide monthly rate. English-language course prices depend on weekly teaching hours, provider, location, accommodation arrangements, and course length, so a single monthly UK figure should not be presented as an official benchmark. |
Major Education Updates & Policy Changes
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| 2000–2010: Key Updates & Reforms | — | |
| 2010–2020: Key Updates & Reforms | ||
| 2020–2024: Key Updates & Reforms | ||
| 2025–2026: Key Updates & Reforms |
General Overview (Narrative)
| Category | Turkey | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | Türkiye’s education system is built around a centralised national framework, with K–12 overseen by the Ministry of National Education and higher education coordinated by the Council of Higher Education (CoHE / YÖK). Compulsory schooling typically covers ages 6–18, totaling 12 years under the widely referenced 4+4+4 structure. Public education provides broad nationwide access, while private and international schools complement the system—especially in major cities and in international-programme offerings. Learning progress and placement are supported by national assessment and exam mechanisms, including secondary and tertiary placement pathways. International benchmarking is reflected in PISA, where Türkiye participates and reports results across mathematics, reading, and science. In higher education, the system includes a large network of universities and emphasises quality assurance through YÖKAK and performance monitoring initiatives such as the Research Universities evaluation cycle. Recent years highlight steady momentum in digital capacity, international visibility, and data-driven system monitoring, supporting an accessible and continuously developing learning environment. Source✅ | The United Kingdom does not operate one uniform school system. England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland control their own compulsory-school rules, curricula, qualification structures, assessment arrangements, teacher requirements, and many funding policies. England generally uses Reception, Years 1–11, GCSEs, and A levels, with a separate requirement for young people to remain in education or training until 18. Scotland uses P1–P7 and S1–S6 under Curriculum for Excellence, with National 4/5, Higher, and Advanced Higher qualifications. Wales uses the Curriculum for Wales and is introducing Made-for-Wales GCSEs. Northern Ireland follows Foundation Stage and Key Stages 1–4, with its own GCSE, AS, and A-level arrangements. School calendars differ as well: Scotland normally starts in August, while England, Wales, and Northern Ireland generally start in September. State-funded schooling is the main route throughout the UK, but school categories and administrative rules differ. Higher education has UK-wide reach, while regulation, domestic tuition support, and student-finance rules remain nation-specific. PISA can report a UK aggregate, but domestic school examinations should not be modeled as one common UK assessment system. [UK DfE] |